Privacy Policy

original

Latest Facebook Privacy Setting Explained

Facebook has undergone a series of updates to its privacy settings. These new updates are a new set of simplified privacy tools to help its users understand where their photos and updates will appear – and who will see them.

For those of you who have not already done so it’s time to review your privacy settings and ensure you are comfortable with who is seeing your content. Of course once something has been put up online there’s no one real way to ensure it’s removed seek & hide is the best form of defense and the changes made towards the end of 2012 have made it easier to keep control of your privacy going forward.

Some of the changes are fairly straightforward. There are fewer options hidden behind menus, making it easier for you to change your privacy settings without leaving the News Feed. Additionally, the company has introduced a faster way to untag multiple photos and a two-step app authorization process.

Here are just a few of the changes – to see the full explanation check out Facebook’s own update about it: Read Here

Blocking:

The first thing you’ll notice when you get the new privacy update is a pop-up box explaining the new way to block users. It’s simple – just add their name or email in the box and press enter, or click “view all blocked users” to see a list of the people you’ve already blocked. (Also good if you have a really annoying friend clogging up your news feed (Don’t worry they won’t find out)

Privacy Shortcuts:

Arguably the most privacy friendly change is the new privacy ‘shortcut’ menu at the top which gives you the option to check “who can see my stuff?” and “who can contact me?”

If you click the first of those options, the menu item will drop down a list to show you where you’re photos and other information are shared. Click this and make sure it looks as you would expect. If it is not as you thought, click through to “see more settings” and change your privacy options to suit your requirements.

Similarly, do this for “who can contact me” too – again, check it is ok and if not, make changes.

Basically, Privacy Shortcuts is a new feature that allows you to change privacy settings. In short, this means that there’s a one click method for most of the different ways you can block someone or block everybody – if that’s what you want to do.

How do others see me?

Ever wondered what people see when they look at your profile? Well, this new update puts the “View Profile As…” tool right into privacy drop-down menu, meaning it’s easier to see how you look to the world. Do this – you might be surprised by what you see!

How do I Erase Past Posts:

Facebook launched the activity log well over a year ago to help users track their history on the site, make changes or hide some embarrassing posts. The “new look” activity log now makes it easy to filter content based on when it was posted, and who can see it – and then get it removed if you wish. You can get to this activity log by entering this URL in the address bar: http://www.facebook.com/YOURUSERNAME/allactivity or by going to your profile and finding the “Activity Log” button to the right, under your header image.

For example, until now hiding a photo of yourself on your timeline didn’t necessarily mean that you were also untagged. The result was that the picture was still out there for people to see. Facebook now gives you an option to fix that.

Go to your activity log, you can now set up a filter to show “invisible” photos, in which you’re tagged but that aren’t showing up in your feed. You don’t even need to untag them individually – you can also “untag” multiple photos in one go based on the filters you choose.

I have a Personal Profile Page for my Business Should I Convert to a Business Page?

In 2011, Facebook released a tool that lets users convert their personal profile into a Facebook Page. The main difference between the two (page and profile) is that users can simply “like” a Page while they “add a friend” with someone who has a profile. This makes Pages a much better solution for businesses and public figures as it does not limit the number of fans nor does it require a response (accepting friend request).

”But with a Profile Page I can add members & have more freedom” Why should I change?

Well, first of all, it’s against Facebook’s terms and conditions to have your business account set up as a personal profile. Facebook have the right to delete your entire account at any time if they happen to come across this configuration.

It just doesn’t look very professional. Some people have set up their businesses using part of the business name as the personal “first name” and part as the personal “last name.” To most Facebook users, when they see this, it really sends out the message that the business doesn’t have a clue what they’re doing.

They’re just not that in to you. Adding friends and increasing numbers may look good and you may feel like you’re doing great. But these people are not necessarily engaged or interested with you, your product or your service. Don’t just look at the numbers, look at the numbers behind the numbers

Actual business Pages from Facebook offer a much better and more solid set of features for business marketing and fan engagement purposes. Personal Facebook accounts are designed to help the individual interact with family and friends. Business pages offer many more features that help you promote your business and your brand—plus, by default, they’re open to the public just like your business is.

Now, if you have a profile set up for your business but you understand that it is essential that you use a Page – then you’ve made a good decision. However, if you think you are at an advantage by using a profile – then bigger fool you!

Advertisements

Recent Posts